RSS

Stasis

17 Feb

The word “stasis” keeps floating into my head the last couple of days when I think about my personal development. I just looked up the definition and it means a few things depending on the context. Here are a couple that stand out to me:

  • A state of stability in which all forces are equal and opposing, therefore they cancel out each other
  • A state of static balance or equilibrium – STAGNATION

And that’s what I’ve been afraid of. STAGNATION

  • Stuck in an established routine; mired in monotony; caught in a stultifying sameness.

Oh my goddess!!!!! Not the stultifying sameness again!!!

I acquired the comfy job with a decent salary FINALLY and though it doesn’t fulfill me, it’s also not horrid and knowing how the world economy is going, I’m plain grateful to be employed and living somewhere beautiful. For the first time in my adult life I’m not living hand to mouth… or in my truck box… or tent

But, I can feel complacency settling in and that scares the crap out of me.

Complacency

  • Resting on one’s laurels; To be content with one’s present or past honours, accomplishments, or prestige.

Apparently most people dread change but I crave it. The hardest thing for me to do is stay put. Stay put in a community, in a job… I bore easily. Actually it’s not the boredom that drives me it’s my curiosity. I want to know about everything first hand so I’ve tried many things out and on for size and then when I think I’ve got a handle on something, I’m off to learn about the next thing.

I like living this way but it’s tough on the pocket book especially now that I have five critters to feed and care for, a car loan, mortgage blah blah blah. About every other day I want to sell all of my belongings, move into an RV and travel North America writing about all the amazing people, places and professions that are out there just waiting to be discovered and shared.

The opposite of stasis is:

  • imbalance; instability

That sounds unhealthy to my ear and yet, sooooooooooo good to my heart.

hmmm

//

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 17, 2013 in PonderQs

 

Leave a Reply

 
