RSS

30 Poems in 30 Days

08 Apr

Jumping in on day 7!! I have some catching up to do.

NaPoWriMo is National Poetry Writing Month akin to the novel writing challenge. I just stumbled across it.

I’ll start by re-writing a poem I submitted on a writing.ie challenge two days ago that had to include the word April:

 

On Wednesday, it was Winter and then

Thursday by noon it was Spring.

April is a confusion of rubber boots and woolen toques

Mud-soaked pant hems and sun-bronzed faces.

Cold, aching fingers clutch first daffodils.

 

Ok, let’s see what else I can come up with this evening. It’ll be a hurried, catch up, slam poetry night so I’m back in line with the challenge. These won’t be stellar, but hopefully they will be fun.

 

Snow storm covers Spring

Freshly melted roads turn white

Do not trip on ice.

Ice

 

Working towards three … can I do it?

Yes I can!

 

There once was a butterfly who flew by

With fluttering wings it flitted and flounced by

Faster and farther

Further and feistier

The flutterby blew by and said bye-bye.

 

Well I don’t know what that was. It was going to be a Limerick but it went off on it’s own direction. I’ll still count it as the third poem.

Fourth …

 

Winter winds its way down

                                                down

                                                      down

into the ground, snow-melt nourishes the earth.

” Wake… wake,”

whispers the wild wind to the wee.

Wood nymphs creep sleepily from winter dens

They turn wan faces skyward and seek the warmth of the sun.

South Bay

 

Five Five Five!!!!!

 

Looking into the bowl of flour, eggs and sugar

I see my fathers crinkly hands

My grandfather’s spotty, elder hands

My hands.

 

I make a face and hurl a sound; an effect to express my opinion about something 

funny, stupid, silly, sad

And hear my big brother’s voice.

My voice.

 

A deep sigh

A belly laugh

My mother erupts

From within me and I hear her all around.

My sound.

 

Years go by

I’m all grown up

But the people who shaped us when we are young

Cling to us in ways that go much deeper than DNA

It is as if they have etched their names on our bones.

 

Working on six. Number six.

 

Rock stars and acrobats

Walk a fine line.

Sublime.

But oh, they have so far to fall.

Like a safety net, a rock star can ride the wave of fans who stick around to watch their backs,

30 years on.

 

That’s for U2. Must fit in one poem for U2 this month. They seem a bit obsessed with making their music count among the Gen Why kids. I suppose I’d like to remind them that top 40 popularity is fickle and fleeting but loyalty has a long lifespan. They are a well-loved band and always will be whether or not they make another top 40 hit.

Okay. I’ve made it. SEVEN!! I need a final poem for tonight. Drum roll pleasssssssssssssssssssse

 

These seven poems took an hour

I feel so full of power

The first six were heartfelt and

This one is poorly dealt

So I think I’m going to have to try again.

Fooey!

 

Okay ya that doesn’t count. Try again.

NUMBER SEVEN!

 

Sunshine fades to nightlight

Stars swing to the west

Wolves are howling good night

and Owls are in their nests.

Pets are settled into bed

My cup of tea is steeping 

I think about the day ahead

and of the great things I’ll be reaping.

Random March 2013 011

Simple but true.

Woo hoo!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2013 in PonderQs

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “30 Poems in 30 Days

    • CurlyQ

      April 8, 2013 at 11:48 pm

      Thanks for linking me. I’m still learning the blog ropes and haven’t learned to do that yet.
      Happy writing!

       
    • CurlyQ

      April 10, 2013 at 2:08 am

      Thanks for the link. I enjoyed reading your last poem and appreciate you offering the style and link. I’d never heard of it before but I like how you are able to tell a story. It had a rhythmic flow to it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
