RSS

Running with Dogs

10 Apr

A content version of weary

Overcomes me.

Eyes droopy and legs weak.

Lips burning from sun and lungs wheezy.

I have run this day.

With dogs at my side

I feel powerful and confident.

With dogs at my side

We are a force to be reckoned with.

Beware squirrels and bunny rabbits of the forest.

The pack is panting, plodding its way past

We stop only for them to munch on elk droppings while

I blow my nose.

With dogs at my side

Running

We are anything but hip – gangling Great Dane, punk husky and asthmatic, allergic 40-year-old woman.

But we run because it feels good.

Because we can.

Like a kid at recess blowing off steam and sweating hard.

I will slow down when I am old and then

I will stroll with equally old dogs at my side

And at that stride I will still feel

powerful and confident

With dogs at my side.

Day 9 NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 10, 2013 in PonderQs

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
