RSS

Lunch Post Challenge: Snowshoeing

23 Jan

I was snowshoeing

Snowshoeing at Kingsmere 040

And it was spectacular, a mild -28C with no wind. I could hear my heart beating, a few song birds singing, the river running

Snowshoeing at Kingsmere 036

and then a few too many twigs and small branches breaking close by.

My imagination got the better of me. I tried to be calm and face down my fears, so alone in the woods and far from any assistance. I tried to stop imagining sighting a cougar camouflaged in the trees and how it would feel to be ripped to pieces by one; my blood turning the pristine snow drifts red.

Snowshoeing at Kingsmere 038

I really need to stop watching Planet Earth right before bed.

DPchallenge

 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2014 in PonderQs

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Lunch Post Challenge: Snowshoeing

  1. evelyneholingue

    January 23, 2014 at 4:11 am

    Lovely, lovely snow. I miss it so much here in California!

     

Leave a Reply

 
